Not So Typically Munsch

LoveYouForeverEvery mother I know can be reduced to tears by reading Robert Munsch’s Love You Forever to their children and most made up their own tune to sing:

“I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
as long as I’m living
my baby you’ll be.”

When mine were small, we had the privilege of attending a Robert Munsch show at the Jubilee Auditorium in Edmonton. We all enjoyed it very, very much but I’ll never forget the looks of confusion on both of my sons’ faces when he sang this tune. “He’s not singing it right, Mummy!” They both whispered to me at the same time.

This is my version:

And this is Robert Munsch’s:

It’s not a typically comedic Munsch story and not one that I choose to read in Library class. Love You Forever should be read over and over again by parents to their children to reassure them that no matter what they do, we will always love them.

I only recently learned the sad truth behind this story. My sister posted a link on Facebook to a post on the Mom Stories blog, that in turn pointed to Munsch’s website, where he explains how the story came out of personal loss.

My Munsch books have somehow migrated to my grandchildrens’ home, (still favourites with their parents), but should I read this one again to my granddaughters, I will think of Mr. & Mrs. Munsch and my heart will be that much more full.

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Authors & Illustrators, Reading

3 responses to “Not So Typically Munsch

  1. sbkaren

    A friend referred me to your site, and I have now subscribed to your posts. I am also a librarian in a K-5 setting. I love Robert Munsch but cannot read this story without crying. A few years ago I highlighted his books and found mp3 file versions of his stories. I used those to let Robert ‘tell his tales’. Only problem was, he is a fast reader! If I were a classroom teacher again I’d have the kids do the book about the crazy hair (title isn’t coming to me now, end of my school day, I bet you can relate!) But all the kids LOVE to hear his stories.

    • He is a wonderful storyteller – nobody does silly sound effects better. I’m so glad we got to see him live when my kids were little. Are you thinking about Aaron’s Hair? It sticks in my mind because that’s my elder son’s name and he’s always had unruly hair.

      I’m so glad you’ve joined me here and that you’re enjoying the site. I very much look forward to your observations – we’re all so much richer when we share.

  2. sbkaren

    Hi Cindy – actually the story I was remember was Stephanie’s Ponytail! Take a look at it if you haven’t already. It’s a pretty funny story about copying what others do. And a good lesson why you shouldn’t! When I have a bit more time, possibly this weekend, I want to comment on your new library layout.

Leave a Reply

