Read-Alike Sites: A Collection

I have a confession. I’m a very bad librarian. I am really bad at Reader Advisory. When a student tells me they don’t know what to read next my mind goes blank. I can’t pull a book out of my hat on the spot any faster than I could write one. Oh, I can fake it…I can go to the stacks and scan until I find one that might fit, or I can ask other students who read a similar genre but that doesn’t always work.

So it always helps to have a variety of options for readalike lists that will hopefully help satisfy the student. Some of these are new to me so I can’t vouch for them all but I’m willing to give them a go.

Library Thing Labs: Author read-alikes I belive these lists are calculated with an algorithm rather than personal opinion.

ATN Reading Lists: Read Alikes “If you liked…” lists by title.

Book Bowse Read-Alikes Searchable and browse-able by author and title

Goodreads Read Alikes Book Lists User-created lists by author, title, subject and genre

Your Next Read Searchable by author, title, genre, etc.

Clermont County Public Library Teen Readalikes & Kid Readalikes

I just learned of YALSA’s Teen Book Finder app thanks for our beloved YRL consultant, Jocie. I can’t wait to download it on the iPad and try it out with the junior high classes.

If you know of any others, please include them in the comments so that we can all benefit.

*Thanks to Mark Anderson of Andertoons for his delightful cartoons.

2 Comments

Filed under Library Programs, Online Resources, Reading

2 responses to “Read-Alike Sites: A Collection

  1. Hi Cindy,
    I’ve used Nancy Keane’s REad-alikes
    http://nancykeane.com/rl/#Readalikes
    Novelist K-8
    and on Friday’s I print and use the comic page /book club of the Unshelved by Gene Ambaum.

    I enjoy your blog. Keep up the good work.

    • Hi Cathy,

      Thank you for your suggestions. I went to add it and noticed that it’s the same list as the 2nd one above: ATN Reading Lists, which as as copyright date of 2013. Nancy Keane’s site was last updated in 2006. I wonder her list was moved over to the Wiki.

      I like the idea of printing the Unshelved features. What do you do with the them? Do you have a bulletin board for them?

Leave a Reply

