Resource Wiki for Elementary School Libraries

This is one of those discoveries that gets me all excited and then almost as quickly I’m deflated.

“This is Awesome.”

“I don’t have time for more projects.”

Then as I look closer, the air begins to seep back into my balloon as I realize that this place is a refueling stop, a routine ‘enhancer’.

The Elementary Library Routines wiki is a constantly updated collection of very nicely organized ideas and plans for elementary school libraries. Under broad headings: Routines, Administration, Curriculum, Promotion & Misc is a plethora of tips, tools and tricks that a current total of 1232 library people share with the rest of us.

This is a place to fine-tune what you already do in the library and get ideas that convince you to drop something you’re already doing, because a new

idea is so much better.

Traditional Style Rainstick

Traditional Style Rainstick (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m going to look for a rain stick based on ideas shared on the ‘Attention Signals’ page and in the meantime might try using a little ceramic bell I have instead of my voice for the “time to put cushions away and line up” warning. I like the idea of using a soft sound like the rain stick.

There are some great printables under ‘Brochures and Bookmarks” and some good advice on computer management in ‘Computers and Laptops’.

I’ve only just begun to explore these resources and have added it to my favourite sites on my school library website profile. If you find something useful there, please share it in the comments, so that I’ll be sure not to miss it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Library Class, Library Management

Leave a Reply

