The Curative Power of Story and My New All-Time Favourite Animation

The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore from Moonbot Studios on Vimeo.

Take the time to watch this full-screen. It is just delightful.

“Inspired, in equal measures, by Hurricane Katrina, Buster Keaton, The Wizard of Oz, and a love for books, The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore is a poignant, humorous allegory about the curative powers of story. Using a variety of techniques (miniatures, computer animation, 2D animation) award winning author/ illustrator William Joyce and Co-director Brandon Oldenburg present a hybrid style of animation that harkens back to silent films and MGM Technicolor musicals. Morris Lessmore is old fashioned and cutting edge at the same time.” IMBD

Check out the Gallery on the official website for some great shots & videos of the making of the film.
There is an interactive iPad app for it too. ($4.99) Review at Co-Design

Discovered at Libraryland

5 Comments

Filed under Art & Design

5 responses to “The Curative Power of Story and My New All-Time Favourite Animation

  1. I borrowed this for a post of my own! Lovely film! However, I had to totally rework the code to get it to show up on my blog… πŸ˜‰ Thanks! ~ Lynda

    • Cool, Lynda. It is awesome, isn’t it. I don’t know if I would know to rework the code and I don’t know why you might have had problems with it. YouTube video embeds have worked really well for me. Did you take the embed code from YouTube and paste it in the HTML view of your edit page?

  2. Hi Cindy, I have always had to modify it a bit. But recently, the code has REALLY changed and it is far more complex than it used to be. Its new character additions suggest (guessing here) that it is written to be used on an iPhone example: http://titlecoderemovedframeborder=

    The old code I replicate looks like this:
    = 640&h=390]

    As you see, the first one gives specific parameters for the framing up front. Also, for whatever reason, WP always dumps the last
    which breaks the sequence and renders it unusable for me. I have never gone wrong with the simple code so long as I place the youtube title code between the = signs. WEIRD huh? Oh, and let me tell you, I didn’t find a tutorial for this, I had to work it out by trial and error.

    I don’t get how it all works, I just managed to sus it out and make it work for me! LOL! ~ L

  3. Oh dear… the WP cut almost all the code out, so now you can’t see what I did to repair it and make it work! If you really want to see it just send me an email, I will be more than happy to share with you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

