What Should We STOP Doing?

In ’30-second Thought Leadership’ videos, which you can view at the AASL website, five professional school librarians share their answers to the question,

“What one traditional activity should school librarians stop doing in order to increase time for strategic activities (collaboration, co-teaching, professional development, advocacy)?”

Always full shelving cart

Their inaugural monthly theme addresses solo-librarians, so according to these speakers, if you are managing a school library on your own, you should not be doing the following:

  1. original cataloging – purchase records or download for free
  2. maintaining a card catalog shelf list
  3. writing vendor, cost & date of purchase in the front of books
  4. annual inventory
  5. any clerical and administrative tasks should be put off as long as there is opportunity to help students and teachers
  6. create tip cards to hand out rather than repeating tasks (technology services)

What we should not stop doing according to Helen Adams, former school librarian and technology coordinator in Wisconsin is being diligent in protecting students’ intellectual freedom.

One of the things that I’ve stopped doing is decorating bulletin boards. Before renovations I had eight bulletin boards in my library that a dozen years ago I tried to change monthly! That of course dwindled to the point where only one or two were changed seasonally and the rest may have received minor updates during the year resulting in what I felt were fairly tacky-looking walls. I now only have two: one in the entry and one in ‘Easy Street’ (the K-2 section) and I get a high school student to decorate them whenever possible.

A popular Caught Reading bulletin board that should have got more attention

BTW: If I were playing on this blog during my work day it is definitely something I should stop doing. I actually write the posts at home because when I get home from work I seldom have any energy left for anything but playing on the ‘net. Sometimes I hit ‘Publish’ during the day to space out the posts.

I’m curious. What tasks have fallen by the wayside as you try to manage your library and provide the best services to your staff and students? Is there anything that you think you should let go of but haven’t been able to?

2 Comments

Filed under Library Management

2 responses to “What Should We STOP Doing?

  1. I LOVE the “Caught Reading” bulletin board! I’m also very bad at changing my bulletin board. Yeah, singular! But I have an idea for a special event with a red carpet step & repeat! Will blog about that when (if!) that comes to fruition! Cheers!
    ~Gwyneth Jones
    The Daring Librarian

  2. Pingback: What Should We STOP Doing?………………. « Going Beyond ... | Collaboration in teaching and learning | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

