Sunday Surfing Selection: Reading Lists and Recommendations (Readalikes)

Beginning with my favourite, this weeks link dump pulls together great places on the internet to explore books.

I would love to hear from you if you have a favourite place to go to find the next book for you, your patrons or your students to read. Please share the link in the comments or email me via the form in the sidebar, and I will add your recommendations to the post.

Literally hundreds of lists are available at Goodreads Listopia. Generated by readers, lists range from the “Best Books of the 20th Century” to “Big Fat Books Worth the Effort“. You can see at a glace how many books are included in the list and how many voters have weighted in. The lists are dynamic as readers continue to rate books and vote for their favourites, but I suspect that Sendak, Seuss, Silverstein, Carle & Brown remain near the top of the Best Children’s Books list. Clicking on any books will take you to that book’s Goodread’s page with book info, images and reader reviews. It will also recommend other books like the one you clicked on.

Powered by Bowker’s Books in Print® database, Bookwire includes print, e-books, audio books and more. Category pages include bestsellers, author pages with biographies and bibliographies.

Teacher Book Wizard: “Find and level books with Book Wizard. Plus, get booktalks, lesson plans, author studies, videos, and discussion guides.”

Ocean County Library’s Teen Zone booklists: an extensive set of lists by topics like “What Does a Dead Guy Have to Say: Books About Forensic Science”, “Rebel Reads: Books about teens who dance to their own beat” and “Keeping it Real: Urban Lit for Teens”.

Nancy Keane’s Read Alikes wiki: good list of readalikes for kids by title.

Anniston Library’s Readalikes page gives recommended authors to read based on author, series or genre. (Adult)

Hennepin County Library – Readers Online Searchable database of subjects and genres as well as an if you like… page.

Fiction db: updated searchable database of 270,000 titles.

YALSA’s 2012 Best Fiction for Young Adults: Juried list of American titles.

School Library Journal: Kids Comics for the Win!

CCBC : Graphic Novels for Libraries: Recommended Titles for Children and Teens

Unshelved

About these ads

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Authors & Illustrators, Library Management, Online Resources

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s